Building peace in the minds of men and women

MOST Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) functions as a permanent committee. Its specific role is related to programme conceptualization, strategy development and scientific advisory research regarding MOST projects. Members of SAC are appointed in their personal capacity, for a three-year term, renewable once. The SAC takes into consideration the need for equitable geographical distribution, gender equality and the principle of non-payment of honoraria.

The SAC is composed of 9 internationally recognized experts representing various disciplines in the social sciences, and the Chairperson of the Intergovernmental Council (IGC) who attends in an ex-officio capacity.


  • Dr N’Dri Assié-Lumumba, Côte d'Ivoire
    Professor at Cornell University, New York. President of the World Council of Comparative Education Societies (WCCES). Former Member of the Scientific Committee of CODESRIA
  • Dr Maja Gerovska Mitev, North Macedonia
    Professor at the Institute of Social Work and Social Policy, Faculty of Philosophy, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University, Skopje
  • Dr Tyrus Miller, United States of America
    Dean, School of Humanities, University of California, Irvine
  • Dr Michelle Mycoo, Trinidad and Tobago
    Professor of Urban and Regional Planning, Department of Geomatics Engineering and Land Management, Faculty of Engineering, The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago. IPCC AR6 Coordinating Lead Author Chapter 15, Small Islands, Working Group II Scientific Steering Committee Member, Future Earth Coasts Steering Committee Member, UN-Habitat University Partnership Initiative
  • Dr Ebrima Sall, Senegal
    Executive Director of TrustAfrica, Dakar, Senegal. Former Executive Secretary of CODESRIA
  • Dr Jomo Kwame Sundaram, Malaysia
    The Institute of Strategic and International Studies
  • Dr Rodrigo Liendo Stuardo, Mexico
    Researcher at Institute of Anthropologic Research, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM)
  • Dr Rossarin Gray, Thailand
    Director and Associate Professor at the Institute for Population and Social Research (IPSR), Mahidol University, Thailand. Executive Secretary of Asian Population Association (APA)
  • Dr Hania Sholkamy, Egypt
    Professor at the Social Research Center of the American University of Cairo (AUC)