Building peace in the minds of men and women

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

2019 Laureates of UNESCO Literacy Prizes

The winners of UNESCO International Literacy Prizes were announced by the Director-General of UNESCO on 2 September 2019, following the recommendations of an international jury.

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize was awarded to:

  • ‘National Office of Literacy and Education for Adults’ in Algeria for its ‘National Strategy for Multilingual Literacy’ programme
  • ‘Textile Fibres and Development Company’ (SODEFITEX) in Senegal for its ‘Functional literacy and follow-up vocational training for farmers in southern Senegal in national languages’ programme

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy was awarded to:

  • ‘Camacol Antioquia’ in Colombia for its ‘Obras Escuala’ programme
  • ‘BASAbali’ in Indonesia for its ‘BASAbali Wiki’ programme
  • ‘Nuovo Comitato il Nobel per I Disabili’ in Italy for its ‘TELL ME - Theatre for Education and Literacy Learning of Migrants in Europe’ programme

The awards will be presented by the Director-General in a ceremony at UNESCO Headquarters on 9 September on the occasion of the celebration of International Literacy Day.

Stories of 2019 Laureates