Building peace in the minds of men and women

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes


© Obras Escuela

2017 Laureates of UNESCO Literacy Prizes

The winners of UNESCO International Literacy Prizes were announced by the Director-General of UNESCO on 30 August 2017, following the recommendations of an international jury.

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize was awarded to:

  • We Love Reading for its Programme in Jordan
  • The Centre for the Study of Learning & Performance (CSLP) at Concordia University in Canada for its programme ‘Using Educational Technology to Develop Essential Educational Competencies in Sub-Saharan Africa’

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy was awarded to:

  • The Secretariat of Information and Communications Technologies of the city of Armenia in Colombia for its ‘AdulTICoProgram’
  • The Citizens Foundation in Pakistan for its ‘Aagahi Literacy Programme for Women and Out-of-School Girls’
  • ‘FunDza Literacy Trust’ in South Africa for its programme ‘Growing FunDza readers and writers’

The awards were presented by the Director-General in a ceremony at UNESCO Headquarters on 8 September on the occasion of the celebration of International Literacy Day.

Download the brochure presenting the 2017 Laureates: English - French - Spanish - Chinese

Story of the five 2017 laureates

    Community engagement and online literacy learning empower girls and women in Pakistan


Planting the seed for the love of reading in Jordan


Technology helps develop literacy and numeracy in Sub-Saharan Africa


Reading and writing for pleasure in South Africa


Reducing the digital gap for seniors in Colombia