Building peace in the minds of men and women

UNESCO ICT in Education Prize


poltu shyamal/

International jury of the ICT in Education Prize

The International Jury consists of five independent members who are recognized figures in the field of ICTs in education selected also with a view to equitable geographical distribution and gender equality. They have been appointed by the Director-General for a period of two years.

At their annual meeting, they assess the submitted applications and recommend two prize-winners to the Director-General.

Ms. Ethel Agnes Pascua-Valenzuela (the Philippines)

Dr. Ethel Agnes Pascua-Valenzuela (the Philippines)

Ms. Valenzuela is the Director of the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) Secretariat based in Bangkok, Thailand. She has worked extensively on the integration of ICT in Teacher Education Curriculum in the Philippines under the Commission on Higher Education (CHED). She also serves as an Expert on CHED Technical Panel in Distance Education and Transnational Education since 2006. She has established the SEAMEO MOOCS Network in 2017 and developed Open Educational Resources for Teacher Education. Currently, she is a Global Steering Committee Member of SDG 2030 of UNESCO and a Governing Board Member of UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL). A passionate educator, she also serves as a Professorial Lecturer at the University of the Philippines Diliman since 2006. Ms. Valenzuela holds a Doctor of Education in Educational Management from De La Salle University.


Mr Ibrahima Guimba-Saidou (Niger)

Mr Ibrahima Guimba-Saidou (Niger)

Mr Ibrahima Guimba-Saidou is the Minister Special Advisor to the President of the Republic of the Niger and CEO of the National Agency for the Information Society (ANSI). Joined the government of Niger in 2016 as High Commissioner in charge of ICT, he leads Niger’s transformation into a digital and knowledge based society, as well as the development and implementation of relevant strategies. Previously, Mr Guimba-Saidou was the Senior Vice-President Commercial-Africa of SES (a world leading commerce satellite operator) & General Manager of SES Astra Africa (Pty) Ltd. With over 20 years of professional experience in the telecommunications industries worldwide, Mr Guimba-Saidou serves as the Niger representative on the Steering Committee of the Smart Africa Alliance. He is also a board member of Niger Telecom, a board member of the CIPMEN (National ICT incubator), and a board member of the African Development University (ADU). Mr Guimba-Saidou holds a Master’s Degree in International management, as well as an MBA from the University of Maryland. He has completed Executive programs with the Wharton Business School (Aresty Institute) and The Centre of Creative Leadership.


Dr Inge Molenaar (the Netherlands)

Dr Inge Molenaar (the Netherlands)

Dr Molenaar holds master degrees in both Cognitive Psychology and International Business studies. She received her PhD in Educational Sciences at the University of Amsterdam in 2011, and currently is an assistant professor at the Learning & Plasticity group of the Behavioural Science Institute at Radboud University Nijmegen. Her main interest is technology empowered innovation in education that facilitates students’ talent development. Her research focuses on the application of data from online learning environments, apps and games (learning analytics) in understanding how learning and regulation of learning unfolds over time. Learning analytics and artificial intelligence offers a powerful way to make new steps towards measuring, understanding and designing innovative learning scenarios. Dr. Molenaar is a member of the Editorial Board of the journal Frontiers in Artificial Intelligence, section AI for Human Learning and Behavior Change and of the journal Metacognition and Learning. Moreover, she has received numerous grants from the Dutch Science Foundation.


Ms. Jawaher AI-Mudhahki (Bahrain)

Dr. Jawaher AI-Mudhahki (Bahrain)

Ms. AI-Mudhahki was appointed the President of the University of Bahrain in October 2021. She had more than 20 years of experience working at the University of Bahrain. Before her appointment as the President of the University, she worked as the Chief Executive of the Education and Training Quality Authority in Bahrain for over a decade. She has served as a governing member in several regional and international committees, including the International Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education and the Association of Quality Assurance Agencies of the Islamic world. She is presently an Executive Committee Member of the Association of Arab Universities. Ms. Al-Mudhahki holds a Ph.D. degree from Exeter University in the UK.


Mr Werner Westermann (Chile)

Mr Werner Westermann (Chile)

Werner Westermann Juárez leads the Civic Education Program at the Library of National Congress of Chile since 2015. He is a History, Geography and Social Sciences Teacher and Bachelor Graduate in History from the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile. Mr Westermann has over 20 years of work experience in digital technology-enabled education and training in national (Ministry of Education), higher education (Red Universitaria Nacional REUNA), international agencies (ECLAC-UN) and civil society institutions. He is also doing research on OER adoption and impact, and contributes to Research on Open Educational Resources for Development. He is a co-writer of the Cape Town Open Education Declaration. He is also an OER World Map national coordinator for Chile and a member of Open Education Consortium’s Latin America Regional Node (OE LATAM). Mr Westermann founded and coordinated community-based initiatives such as Moodlemoot Chile and Sugar Labs Chile.