Building peace in the minds of men and women

ICT in Education Prize



Due to the rapidly evolving situation related to the outbreak of the Coronavirus (COVID-19), the Award Ceremony for 2019 Laureates has been postponed.


In today’s rapidly changing and interconnected societies, technologies have a great potential to enhance teaching, learning and expand access to quality education. According to International Telecommunication Union about 95% of the global population live in regions with at least a basic 2G mobile-cellular network. It means that almost anyone with a connected device can benefit from education programmes based on technology solutions.

The UNESCO King Hamad Bin Isa Al-Khalifa Prize for the Use of ICT in Education recognizes innovative approaches in leveraging new technologies to expand educational and lifelong learning opportunities for all, in line with the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and its Goal 4 on education.

Established in 2005 with the support of the Kingdom of Bahrain, the Prize rewards individuals and organizations that are implementing outstanding projects and promoting the creative use of technologies to enhance learning, teaching and overall educational performance in the digital age.

An international Jury selects two best projects annually. Each prizewinner receives US$ 25,000, a medal and a diploma during a ceremony at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris.

National Commissions of the Member States of UNESCO and international non-governmental organizations maintaining official relations with UNESCO are invited to elicit, nominate and submit candidates for the Prize, thus contributing to a greater diversity of the projects.

Every year the Prize has a specific theme, which, while being in line with UNESCO’s mandate and values, advocates for responsible and ethical use of information and communication technologies.

The 2019 theme is ‘the Use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) to innovate education, teaching and learning’.

2019 Calendar

  • June 2019: Launch of call for nominations
  • 14 November 2019: Deadline for submission
  • December 2019: International jury meeting
  • Due to the rapidly evolving situation related to the outbreak of the Coronavirus (COVID-19), the Award Ceremony for 2019 laureates has been postponed.