Building peace in the minds of men and women

International Scientific Committee

The project benefits from the guidance of an International Scientific Committee composed of 20 members, half of whom are renewed every two years. These members are appointed by the Director General in respect of the representation of different regions, disciplines and gender.

The role of this advisory body is to advise UNESCO on the implementation of the project, in particular with regard to the development of educational material and programmes, research into various aspects of the slave trade and slavery and the formation of new partnerships to promote its objectives.

Members of the Committee

New members

  • Myriam Cottias (France, Martinique), Professor, École des hautes études en sciences sociales
  • Souleymane Bachir Diagne (Senegal), Professor, Columbia University
  • Nancy Krieger, (United States of America), Professor, Harvard University
  • Afua Cooper (Canada), Professor, Dalhousie University, Faculty of Science and Arts
  • Amové Mévégué (Cameroon), Director of the pan-African television channel Ubiznews
  • Hafiz Ali Abdulla (Qatar), Museum Director
  • Chris Cyrille (France/Guadeloupe), Poet, art critic and independent curator
  • Andreiza Anaya (Colombia), Journalist and expert in ethnic communication

Former members of the Committee whose mandate is ongoing

  • Vijay Teelock (Mauritius), Historian and author
  • Jane Landers (United States of America), Historian
  • Rina Cáceres (Costa Rica), Director of the Diaspora Studies Programme
  • Doudou Diène (Senegal), Chairman of the UN Commission of Inquiry on Burundi
  • Ana Lucia Araujo (Brazil), Professor, Howard University
  • Sonjah Stanley N. Niaah (Jamaica), Lecturer, University of the West Indies
  • Chapurukha M. Kusimba (Kenya), Archaeologist
  • Abubakar Babajo Sani (Nigeria), Professor, Umaru Musa Yar'adua University
  • Gerardo Maloney (Panama), Sociologist and writer
  • Abdi M. Kusow (Somalia), Professor, Iowa State University
  • Aurelia Martin Casares (Spain), Professor, University of Granada



>> Back to the Slave Route Homepage