UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize


The Jury shall consist of the 5 members of the Bureau of the International Advisory Committee of the Memory of the World Programme, appointed by the Director-General, for a period of four years, eligible for re-election once, provided that these members are of different nationalities and genders.
If this is not possible, then the Jury shall consist of five independent members, of different nationalities and gender, appointed by the Director-General, preferably amongst from the members of the aforementioned International Advisory Committee, for a period of four years, eligible for re-election once. The quorum for the Jury shall be three members. Jurors involved in a real or potential conflict of interest shall recuse themselves from further deliberations or be asked by the Director-General to do so.
The Jury shall recommend a “work” that involves activities aimed at both preservation and accessibility (as a “common heritage of humanity,” that is, as widely as possible), and whose contribution is “significant.”