UNESCO/Emir Jaber Al Ahmad Al Jaber Al Sabah Prize for Digital Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities


The Jury consists of five independent members, who are appointed by the Director-General of UNESCO for an initial two-year period, with the possibility of two renewals so that they can serve for a maximum of six years.
Jurors are selected based on being personalities with a recognized reputation in the field covered, while also taking into consideration the need for equitable geographical distribution, gender equality and the principle of non-payment of honoraria. The Jury includes persons with disabilities.




Ms Catalina Devandas Aguilar (Costa Rica)

Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, United Nations Human Rights Council




Ms May Chidiac (Lebanon)

Founder of the May Chidiac Foundation, Lebanese journalist and winner of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize in 2006



Mr Klaus Miesenberger (Austria)

Professor, Institut Integriert Studieren, Johannes Kepler Universitat Linz and International Conference on Computers Helping People with Special Needs, ICCHP



Mr Martin Baby Mwesigwa (Uganda)

Member and Rapporteur of the Committee of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and former Program Manager for the National Union of Disabled Persons in Uganda



Ms Saima Wazed Putul (Bangladesh)

Chairperson of National Advisory Committee on Autism; Psychologist, Member of the World Health Organization Expert Advisory Panel on Mental Health (Biography)

Afrique du Sud

Mrs Marie Schoeman (South Africa) - Chair

Chief Education Specialist, Department of Basic Education of the Republic of South Africa (Biography)


Dr Ahmad Abbas Abdullah (Kuwait)

Kuwait University, College of Education


Professor Chris Forlin (Australia)

Professor of Special and Inclusive Education, and Head of the Department of Special Education and Counseling, at the Hong Kong Institute of Education


Professor Dora S. Bjarnasson (Iceland)

Professor of Special Education, and Chair of the Department of Special Education, at the School of Education of the University of Iceland


Dr Phyllis Magrab (USA)

Department of Pediatrics, Georgetown University