UNESCO-Japan Prize on ESD

The UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) honours outstanding projects by individuals, institutions and organizations related to ESD.


© Kalabia/Permenas Mambrasar


The laureates of the 2016 UNESCO-Japan Prize on ESD were named by the Director-General of UNESCO on 15 September 2016: the Centre for Community Regeneration and Development (CCREAD-Cameroon) from Cameroon, the Okayama ESD Promotion Commission from Japan, and the National Union of Students (NUS-UK) from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

This is the second edition of the Prize, which was established in 2014 to honour and showcase outstanding and innovative ESD projects and programmes within the framework of the Global Action Programme on ESD (GAP). Generously funded by the Government of Japan, the Prize comprises three annual awards of US$50,000 each.

Winners are selected every year by the Director-General of UNESCO on the basis of recommendations by an independent jury composed of five international ESD experts. The three laureates of this year’s Prize were chosen from among 120 nominations submitted by 64 UNESCO Member States and 10 NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO.

The Prize on ESD and its laureates highlight the crucial role of education in connecting the social, economic, cultural and environmental dimensions of sustainable development.


Please click below to find out more about the 2016 Prize winners

Centre for Community Regeneration and Development  
Okayama ESD Promotion Commission

National Union of Students UK
(United Kingdom)