Building peace in the minds of men and women

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Official Visit to UNESCO

President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya today explored his country’s cooperation with UNESCO during a meeting with Director-General, Irina Bokova, at the Organization’s Headquarters.

The discussion covered a wide range of programmes that Kenya is leading in cooperation with UNESCO -- including initiatives on digital literacy and the integration of information and communication technologies (ICT) in education. On this occasion, Irina Bokova and the Kenyan Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Amina Mohamed, who accompanied the President, signed an agreement to reinforce collaboration in this field. 

The President and Director-General explored a wide range of activities, including education, literacy and non-formal education, as well as science programmes concerning water resources, UNESCO’s Man and the Biosphere (MAB) Programme and Geoparks. 

In their talks, the President highlighted the essential role of education in facilitating respect for diversity and inclusiveness. He also spoke of his country’s commitment to sustainable development and advocacy in water issues. 

At UNESCO, President Kenyatta also attended a ceremony at which the Director-General designated Mwai Kibaki, the former President of Kenya, as a UNESCO Special Envoy for Water in Africa. The designation comes in recognition of the former President’s efforts to highlight education as an important tool for the success of water-related projects and activities, promote water management in a sustainable manner, support initiatives aiming to make potable drinking water accessible to communities, notably in his capacity as a Patron of the Millenium Water Alliance. 

As a Special Envoy for Water in Africa, Mwai Kibaki will lend his support to UNESCO in mobilizing the international community, Heads of State and Government, as well as civil society actors to recognize the importance of sustainable water resources management in Africa. 

During his official visit, the President was accompanied by Fred Okeng’o Matiang, Cabinet Secretary for Education, Amina Mohamed, Cabinet Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Eugene Wamalwa, Cabinet Secretary for Water and Irrigation, Henry K. Rotich, Cabinet Secretary for Finance; Joseph Nkaissery, Cabinet Secretary for Interior Affairs, Charles Keter, Cabinet Secretary for Energy and Petroleum, Najib Balala, Cabinet Secretary for Tourism, and Willy Bet, Cabinet Secretary for Agriculture.