New Network of Biosphere Reserves to promote the relationship between Mediterranean countries

, France

A total of sixty biosphere reserves from fourteen Mediterranean countries — Algeria, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Morocco, Montenegro, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain and Tunisia — have launched the Network of Mediterranean Biosphere Reserves (RRBMed).

The official launch took place on 19 June 2015 at the UNESCO International Centre for Mediterranean Biosphere Reserve, located in the Castle of Castellet in Barcelona, Spain, in the presence of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Federico Ramos, the Director of the Division of Ecology and Earth Sciences of UNESCO, Han Qunli, the Permanent Delegate of Spain to UNESCO, Juan Manuel Barandica y Luxán, the Abertis Secretary General, Jose Maria Coronas, and the coordinator of the centre, Martí Boada.

The RRBMed aims to highlight the biosphere reserves of these fourteen countries through case materials, with a view to promoting their natural and cultural heritage, strengthening ties and sharing knowledge between the biosphere reserves, reinforcing north-south relations, and developing links between academia, civil society and business.

The UNESCO International Centre for Mediterranean Biosphere Reserves is the first Category II Centre of the Man and the Biosphere (MAB) Programme. It was opened on 5 April 2014, as a result of a public-private partnership between the Autonomous National Parks Agency of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and the Environment and the Abertis Foundation.