Building peace in the minds of men and women

New documentary heritage to be selected for Memory of the World Register

The International Advisory Committee (IAC) for UNESCO’s Memory of the World Programme will meet in Gwangju City, Republic of Korea, from 18 to 21 June. The Committee will review 84 nominations from 54 countries* for inclusion in UNESCO’s Memory of the World Register.

Among this year’s nominations are the National Library of Egypt's Collection of Mamluk Qur'an Manuscripts; the Discovery of Insulin collections in the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library at Toronto University (Canada); the Montreux Jazz Festival, Claude Nobs' Legacy (Switzerland); Life and Works of Ernesto Che Guevara (Bolivia and Cuba);  and the Pages of Testimony Collection, Yad Vashem Jerusalem, 1954-2004 (Israel).

The 14-member Committee will make its recommendations on the nominations to the Director-General of UNESCO, who will endorse the new inscriptions to the Register.

The Committee members meet every two years. Its members serve in a personal capacity and are appointed by the Director-General for their authority in the field of safeguarding documentary heritage.

Created in 1997, the Memory of the World Register protects the world’s documentary heritage. There are currently 245 items on the Register, ranging from the Memory of the Suez Canal (Egypt) to the original records of Carlos Gardel (Uruguay), the Golden Lists of the Qing Dynasty Imperial Examination (China), and the Letter Journals of Hendrik Witbooi.

During the forthcoming session, the Committee will also announce the laureate of the UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize. The $30,000 prize is awarded every two years to institutions or individuals or institutions that have made significant contributions to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage.


*Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil,  Canada, Cambodia, Chile, China,  Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt,  Germany, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkey, United States of America, United Kingdom, Vanuatu. The International Commission for the International Research Service (CISIR)

More information on Memory of the World

The International Advisory Committee

The UNESCO/Jijki Memory of the World prize


Media contact

Lucia Iglesias Kuntz,

UNESCO Press Service

Tel: +33 (0)1 4568 1702