Mobilizing youth for disaster resilience

delhi, India

Youth meet for cooperation in Scientific Innovation for Disaster Management in Chengdu (China)

UNESCO Jakarta and Institute for Disaster Management and Reconstruction, Sichuan University, China organized a workshop entitled “International Workshop for Youth and Young Professionals in Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Research: Mobilizing Youth Through International Collaboration”. This second Regional Workshop was held from 6-8 December 2019 in Chengdu, China.

The main aim was to strengthen coordination and collaboration across national U-INSPIRE platforms. In 2018-19, these platforms were globally established by congregations of young scientists and professionals. The key purpose of these platforms was to mobilize Science, Engineering, Technology and Innovation related knowledge and facilitate resilience building against disasters among professionals. Young professionals from Afghanistan, Central Asia (Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan), Indonesia, India, Nepal, Malaysia, Pakistan and Philippines participated in these congregations. 

Although today’s youth possess the necessary skills, but they still need to be encouraged and empowered to translate the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) into relevant local, national and regional policies”, said Neha Midha, National Professional Officer for Natural Sciences from the UNESCO New Delhi Cluster Office who attended the workshop. 

The three-day workshop saw discussions and collaborations among participants on the success factors and challenges faced by young professionals in DRR. The best practices, challenges and opportunities, and lessons learnt from U-INSPIRE as national platform were disseminated for regional cooperation. This conference also deliberated on motivating factors for young professionals in Asia - Pacific to engage in inter-disciplinary, trans-disciplinary, and trans-boundary collaborations. And lastly, professional development and career opportunities in DRR were also highlighted as part of the workshop.

UNESCO New Delhi office is mandated to cover six countries of South Asia – Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka.