Fifth UNESCO Medals for contributions to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies ceremony

On 5 February 2016, 8 eminent scientists received the UNESCO Medals for contributions to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies during a ceremony held at UNESCO headquarters, Paris. The medal is awarded each year by the Director-General of UNESCO to prominent scientists, public figures and organizations that contributed to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies in the spirit of UNESCO’s priorities. Professor Isamu Akasaki, winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics, was among the new laureates.

The Medal was established in 2010 at the initiative of the International Commission responsible for developing the Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies theme for the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS). Since then, 24 Medals have been awarded to prominent scientists, institutions and public figures, such as Zhores Alferov, winner of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2000, and Chunli Bai, President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

This Medal is designed to highlight the tremendous benefits of progress in nanoscience and nanotechnologies for our societies, for our economies, for all of us” explained UNESCO’s Director General, Irina Bokova. “This is a new branch of science, pushing ever further back the frontiers of knowledge -- and UNESCO is committed to nurturing its full potential, to support every woman and man, especially the most vulnerable.”

The 2016 UNESCO Medals for contributions to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies were awarded to:

Professor Isamu Akasaki – Japan
2014 Nobel Prize in Physics, Professor emeritus of Nagoya University, Professor of Meijo University, Member of The Japan Academy
For his outstanding contribution in the creation of blue light-emitting diodes, which resulted in the discovery of white light sources for illumination.

Professor Lei Jiang - China
Professor of the Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry of the Chinese Academy of Science, member of the World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)
For his research on the design and fabrication of bio-inspired surfaces with specific wettability.

Professor Philippe Pernod – France
Dean of research and Professor of the Ecole Centrale de Lille, Founder and Head of the AIMAN-FILMS Research Group of the Institute of Electronics, Microelectronics and Nanotechnology
For his work on active nanostructured magnetic and multiferroic films, Micro-Magneto-Electro-Mechanical Systems and their applications, and multistable nanostructures.

Professor Nicholas Kotov – United States of America
Professor of the University of Michigan, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers
For his work on biometric self-organization of Nano colloids, ultra-strong nanocomposites, tissue engineering with nanomaterials, and nanoscale drugs.

Academician Gennady Krasnikov - Russian Federation
Director General of Mikron and of the Molecular Electronics Research Institute, member of the Russian Academy of SciencesFor his efforts to broaden the use of nanotechnologies in manufacturing industries and his work in the field of semiconductor physics and semiconductor devices.

Professor Igor Ashurbeyli - Russian Federation
Member of the Russian Academy of Engineering, Chairman of the non-governmental Expert Society on Aerospace Problems
For his work in the field of the development of new generation microelectronic devices, information systems and technologies.

Doctor Mikhail Dubina - Russian Federation
Director of the Nanotechnology Centre of the St Petersburg Academic University, Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences
For his work in research and development of new medical technologies based on the use of nanostructures in the earlier on-line diagnostics as well as the creation of new nano biotechnological devices that could influence the   bioprocesses in the human body.

Doctor Natalya Mikhaylova - Russian Federation
President of the Eurasian Association of Specialists of Injective Methods, Member of the American Academy of Dermatology and the American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery
For her work on the application of nanotechnologies in aesthetic medicine, in the fields of cosmetology, polysaccharide development, cancer therapy, reconstructive and plastic surgery.

About the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS)

EOLSS is the world’s largest web-based source of professional knowledge on trans-disciplinary science base for sustainable development, as a result of the joint efforts of over 8000 specialized authors in over 100 countries. The encyclopedia is a virtual dynamic library that is aimed at a wide audience, from pre-university students to educators and professional practitioners, as well and policy analysts and decision-makers. By providing a complete and accessible body of knowledge, EOLSS aims to lead to the fulfillment of human needs by simultaneously considering socio-economic and technological progress that may lead to conservation of Earth’s natural systems.