Elections of the Officers and Executive Council of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

Paris, France

Paris, 3 July 2019 — The Member States of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO have elected the new Officers (the Chairperson and five Vice-Chairpersons) and the Members of the Executive Council.

The Officers of the Commission are the Chairperson and five Vice-chairpersons. They are elected every two years on their own capacity by the IOC Assembly. Vice-chairpersons are nationals of Member States of each of the five electoral groups. The Chairperson and the five Vice-chairperson are eligible for re-election in their capacity as Chairperson or Vice-chairperson, but only once for successive terms. Each term lasts two years, corresponding to the interval between ordinary sessions of the Assembly. IOC Officers can serve for a maximum of two consecutive terms.

The Executive Council consists of up to 40 Member States, including the six Member States represented by the Chairperson and the five Vice-Chairpersons. The Executive Council meets every year to review issues and items from on-going work plans, and make preparations for the IOC Assembly.

Representation in the IOC Executive Council Electoral Group I can consist of up to 10 seats; Group II of up to 3 seats; Group III of up to 9 seats; Group IV of up to 9 seats; and Group V of up to 9 seats.

The results of the elections are as follows.

IOC Officers


Mr Ariel Hernán Troisi (Argentina)


Ms Monika Breuch-Moritz (Germany), Group I

Mr Alexander Frolov (Russian Federation), Group II

Mr Frederico Antonio Saraiva Nogueira (Brazil), Group III

Mr Satheesh Chandra Shenoi (India), Group IV

Mr Karim Hilmi (Morocco), Group V

IOC Executive Council

Group I: Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Group II: Bulgaria, Russian Federation

Group III: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Grenada, Mexico, Peru, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Uruguay

Group IV: Australia, China, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Thailand

Group V: Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Kenya, Kuwait, Madagascar, Morocco, Oman, Senegal, South Africa


For more information, please contact:

Thorkild Aarup (t.aarup@unesco.org)