Building peace in the minds of men and women

Eight UNESCO Medals awarded to nanotechnology and nanoscience specialists

UNESCO Director-General Irina Bokova presented the UNESCO Medal “For the Development of Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies” to eight laureates during a ceremony organized at UNESCO Headquarters on 10 April 2015

The scientific laureates of this 4th edition are:

  • Mr. Valentin Bukhtoyarov (Russian Federation) : Academician of the Russian Academy of Mining Science
  • Ms. Constance Chang-Hasnain (United States) : John R. Whinnery Chair Professor at the University of California, Berkeley
  • Ms. Soodabeh Davaran (Iran) : Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at Tabriz University
  • Mr. Vladimir Fortov (Russian Federation) : President of the Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Mr. Mikhail Kovalchuk (Russian Federation) : Founder of the Kurchatov Nano-Bio –Info-Kogno Centre and Head of the Editorial Board of the journal Russian Nanotechnologies
  • Ms. Tebello Nyokong (South Africa) : Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Nanotechnology and Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Rhodes University
  • Mr. Mikhail Selyanin (Russian Federation) : President of the International Research and Development Centre for Innovation Technologies
  • Mr. Shem Wandiga (Kenya) : Professor of Chemistry at the department of Chemistry, University of Nairobi

The UNESCO Medal “For contribution to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies” was established in 2010 at the initiative of the Thematic group on “Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies” of the International Commission on the Development of the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) – one of the world’s largest knowledge bases on sustainable development, evolving under the aegis of UNESCO.

The Medal recognizes the tremendous benefits that stem from progress in the fields of nanoscience and nanotechnologies for our societies and economies. “This new branch of science works at the frontiers of knowledge, and UNESCO is committed to nurturing its full potential to support all societies, and especially developing countries”, said Director-General Bokova in her address at the award ceremony. “The benefits must reach all. In terms of improving education, strengthening healthcare, or facilitating transportation -- we must ensure nobody is left out and all voices are heard, starting with women…and women scientist”, continued the Director-General, noting that the Medal is awarded for the first time to 3 outstanding female scientists in this year edition.