Caribbean countries committed to establish biosphere reserves

Countries attending the Inter-Ministerial and Experts Conference on Biosphere Reserves in the Caribbean Sub-Region held in St. Kitts from 26 to 27 March 2013 have committed to establish a biosphere reserve in their respective countries.

During the conference, organized by the Government of St. Kitts & Nevis and the MAB Programme, an action plan for the next three years was established with the aim to create a network of biosphere reserves in the Caribbean Small Islands States and to promote biosphere reserves as tools for innovative projects bringing added value to the local socio-economical activities.

At a press conference after the meeting, the Ministers of Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Jamaica, St. Kitts & Nevis and St. Maarten and government representatives of Curaçao, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines announced their commitment to work together in the establishment of biosphere reserves in their countries.

The St. Kitts & Nevis Declaration was also agreed upon by all ministers, UNESCO representatives and experts to that effect. Including empowering UNESCO to identify and secure extra-budgetary funds to facilitate the Caribbean island states to execute the action plan.