Building peace in the minds of men and women

40 members of the Executive Council of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO elected

Member States of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) have elected the 40 members of the IOC Executive Council during the 28th session of the IOC Assembly, on 24 June 2015. The 40 members correspond to 6 Officers (1 chairperson and 5 vice-chairpersons) and 34 Member States.

The Executive Council meets every year to review issues and items from on-going work plans, and make preparations for the Assemblies. Sessions of the IOC Assembly are held every 2 years to review the work of the commission, including the work of the member states and the secretariat, and formulate a common work plan for the coming two years.
The results of the elections are as follows.

IOC Officers
Chair: Dr Peter Haugan (Norway) Group I

Vice Chairs:

  • Mr Stephen Peter Hall (UK) Group I
  • Dr Alexander Postnov (Russian Federation) Group II
  • Mr Ariel Hernan Troisi (Argentina) Group III
  • Dr Somkiat Khokiattiwong (Thailand) Group IV
  • Dr Ashley Johnson (South Africa) Group V

Seats on the Executive Council
Group I: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Portugal, Turkey, USA
Group II: Poland, Ukraine
Group III: Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Grenada, Mexico, Peru
Group IV: Australia, Bangladesh, China, India, Japan, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea
Group V: Cote d’Ivoire, Egypt, Kenya, Morocco, Senegal, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia

UNESCO Director General Irina Bokova and IOC-UNESCO Executive Secretary Vladimir Ryabinin met with the newly elected IOC Officers soon after the election.

Each term is of 2 years, corresponding to the interval between ordinary session of the Assembly. IOC Officers can serve for a maximum of two consecutive terms.

Related links: