Building peace in the minds of men and women

Task Force Members

IPBES Task Force on Indigenous and Local Knowledge Systems

In 2014 at the second session of the IPBES Plenary, a task force on indigenous and local knowledge systems was formed for the period for this work programme 2014–2018. This task force would be led by the Multidisciplinary Expert Panel in consultation with the Bureau.

Name Affiliation
Mariteuw Chimère Diaw African Model Forests Network Secretariat, Cameroon

Judy Fisher

Director, Fisher Research Pty Ltd, Australia
Özden Görücü

Kahramanmaraş Sütçü İmam University, Faculty of Forestry / Department of Forest Engineering, Kahramanmaraş, Turkey

Ana-Maria Hernandez Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Research on Biological Resources, Colombia
Madhav Karki IUCN Commission on Ecosystem Management / The International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development, Nepal
Alfred Apau Oteng Yeboah Department of Botany, University of Ghana


Name Affiliation
Çiğdem Adem The Public Administration Institute for Turkey & the Middle East (TODAIE), Turkey
Constant Yao Yves Adou Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny, Côte d'Ivoire
Wilfredo Alangui University of the Philippines, Philippines
Fikret Berkes University of Manitoba, Canada
Peter Bridgewater Institute of Aplied Ecology/Institute of Governance & Public Administration, University of Canberra, Australia
Eduardo Sonnewend Brondizio Department of Anthropology at Indiana University, USA  / Brazil
Maria Manuela Carneiro Da Cunha The University of Chicago, USA
Viviana Elsa Figueroa Convention on Biological Diversity, Argentina
Rosemary Hill CSIRO Ecosystem Sciences, Australia
Kaoru Ichikawa United Nations University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability, Japan
Peris Kariuki National Museums of Kenya, Kenya
Zsolt Molnár Centre for Ecological Research, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary
Hassan Roba The Christensen Fund, Kenya
Marie Roué Laboratory of Eco-anthropology and Ethnobiology, National Museum of Natural History (MNHN), France
Yildiz Aumeeruddy Thomas Centre National de la Recherce Scientifique (CNRS), France
Dayuan Xue School of Life and Environmental Science, Minzu University of China, China
Name Affiliation
Joji Cariño Forest Peoples Programme, UK / Philippines
Name Affiliation
Brigitte Baptiste Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Research on Biological Resources, Colombia
Erik Leitis Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development of Latvia, Latvia
Phil Lyver Landcare Research, New Zealand
Diego Pacheco Balanza Ministry of Planning for Development, Bolivia
Tamar Pataridze Low-Emission Development Strategies and Plans, Georgia
Edgar Perez San Carlos University, Guatemala
Randy Thaman University of South Pacific, Fiji