Administrative Council Members

Administrative Council Members

Mr Roman Bĕlor  - designated to serve for a period of 4 years
H.E. Mary M. Khimulu - designated to serve for a period of 4 years
H.E. Mrs Luisa Rebeca Sánchez Bello - designated to serve for a period of 4 years
Dr Nureldin Satti - designated to serve  for a period of 4 years 
Dr Ramezanali Vasheghani Farahani - designated to serve for a period of 4 years- Vice-president
Dr María Elisa Velázquez Gutiérrez - designated to serve for a period of 4 years - Vice-President


Mr Roman Bĕlor is currently the Director of the Prague Spring Festival and in the past worked as a member of the Festival’s Committee (1993–2001). He is also a sitting member of the European City of Culture (ECOC) 2015 selection panel. He has served as the Chairman of the Prague International Conference of the International Artist Managers’ Association (2005), Director of the Prague Symphony Orchestra (1992–2001), and Chairman of the Czech Symphony Orchestras Association (1997–2001). He was honored the titles of Chevalier (1995) and Officier (2001) of the French Order of Arts and Letters. He graduated from Prague Technical University with a degree in applied economics.

S.E. Mme Mary M. Khimulu (Kenya)

Ambassador Mary M. Khimulu holds a PhD in Human Behaviour and Leadership (Management), Masters in Management & Organisation Development and BSC Business Administration,(Magna Cum Laude). She is currently serving as -Global Honorary Associate-World Association of Girls Guides and Girl  Scouts (WAGGGS); Trustee Member of UNESCO Category 2 Institute the Africa World Heritage Fund (South Africa); Advisory Board Member of the Nigeria  /UNESCO Category 2 Institute for Africa Culture and International  Understanding,  Board Member and Bureau Member of UNESCO (Management of  Social Transformations Programme and UNESCO IPDF- International Fund for  the Protection of Culture). She is also the Vice-President for Africa Group of the UNESCO Inter-governmental Council (IGC) of the Management of Social Transformations (MOST) Programme. Formerly she was the Ambassador, Permanent Delegate of the Republic of Kenya to UNESCO, Paris, France. She also served as President Africa Group of 53 Member States, President, Commonwealth Group; President Eastern Africa Group and 3 times Vice-President during UNESCO General Conferences amongst other leadership roles. Holds the title Moran of the Burning Spear,(M.B.S.) National honour by Kenya H.E. President in December 2011.

H.E. Mrs Luisa Rebeca Sánchez Bello (Donor Country, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela )  

Ambassador Rebeca Sánchez Bello currently holds the position of Ambassador, Alternate Permanent Representative of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva. Formerly, she was the Permanent Delegate to UNESCO for the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela. She previously served as Ambassador to the Kingdom of Morocco, the Republic of Senegal and the Republic of Mali from 2002 to 2007. Founder, Executive Director and President of OPEC’s Center for Studies (CENTROPEP, Caracas) from 1984 to 2001, Ms. Ambassador Rebeca Sánchez Bello has taken part over the years in actively promoting art and culture in OPEC member countries, through the organization of many intercultural events between the Arab World, Africa and Latin America. She was also, from 1994 to 1995, Coordinator for the UNESCO Latin America Research Project "Contribution of the Arab-Islamic Civilization to Latin American Cultures through Spain and Portugal (ACALAPI)." In 2001 she was appointed as Executive Coordinator of the "Latin-American and Caribbean meeting on the dialogue of civilizations" to mark the United Nations International Year of Dialogue among Civilizations. She has also been Professor of International Relations at the Universidad Central de Venezuela (UCV, Caracas) from 1991 to 1996, and a thesis Director on the subject "Cultures and Arab-Islamic Societies ", from 1990 to 1998 at the UCV. H.E. Ms. Rebeca Sánchez Bello holds a Ph.D. in Economics and a Diploma of Advanced Studies (DEA) from the Institute for the Study of Economic and Social Development (IEDES, University of Paris I, Panthéon-Sorbonne), a Master’s in Planning and Development from Centre for the Study of Economic and Social Development, and a Diploma of Law from the Central University of Venezuela (Caracas).

Dr Nureldin Satti (Sudan)

Dr Nureldin Satti has served the United Nations and UNESCO for a number of years in many capacities. In November 2011, he was President of the Culture Commission at UNESCO’s 36th General Conference in Paris. He also held the post of Director for the UNESCO Cluster Offices in Addis Ababa (2007–2008) and Dar Es Salaam (2001). For the UN he was Principal Deputy SRSG for the Peacekeeping Mission in Burundi (UNOB – United Nations Operation in Burundi; 2004) and was appointed by the UN Secretary-General as Deputy Special Representative at the UN Political Office for Burundi (UNOB; 2002). Dr Satti was also a Senior Fellow and Distinguished African Scholar at the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars in Washington DC (2008–2009). He received a doctorate in literature from the University of Paris-Sorbonne, a master’s degree from the University of Lyon and an undergraduate degree from the University of Khartoum.

Dr Ramezanali Vasheghani Farahani (Islamic Republic of Iran) Vice-President


Dr Vasheghani Farahani has taught various forms of traditional and modern calligraphy since 1987 and also works as a translator of multiple languages. He has participated in a number of art exhibitions in Iran, Europe, Asia and Africa and has also worked in Iranian television production. He holds a doctorate and a diploma of advanced studies in French language and literature from Azad University (Tehran). He performed his calligraphy training with the Association of Iranian Calligraphers.

Dr María Elisa Velázquez Gutiérrez (Mexico) Vice-President
An expert on Africa and its historic heritage, Dr Velázquez Gutiérrez has served as the President of the International Scientific Committee for the UNESCO Slave Route Project since 2011. She is a Professor at Escuela Nacional de Antropologia e Historia, (Mexico City, since 2001), Research Professor at the Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia (Mexico City; since 1998) and Professor of museums and art studies at the Universidad Iberoamericana (Mexico City; since 1996). In 2011 she was awarded the Gonzalo Aguirre Beltrán prize for her research and contribution to the promotion of African ancestry. She holds a doctorate in anthropology from the Escuela Nacional de Antropología e Historia and a master’s in history from the Universidad Autonoma de Mexico (Toluca de Lerdo).