Building peace in the minds of men and women

Internet Governance Glossary


5.3 Millennium Development Goals / MDG

Eight international development goals that were established following the Millennium Summit of the United Nations in 2000, following the adoption of the United Nations Millennium Declaration to achieve the goals by 2015.


The Internet as well as the concept of the information society have at least indirectly a great impact on any of the eight MDGs, namely:

  • To eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  • To achieve universal primary education
  • To promote gender equality and empowering women
  • To reduce child mortality rates
  • To improve maternal health
  • To combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases
  • To ensure environmental sustainability
  • To develop a global partnership for development.

All 189 United Nations member states at the time (there are 193 currently) and at least 23 international organizations committed to help achieve the MDGs.