The Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the Global Education Monitoring Report is composed of representatives from UN multilateral agencies, bilateral agencies, non-governmental organizations, civil society groups and networks, directors of UNESCO education Institutes and individuals from developing countries in all world regions with an expertise in education issues. It meets once a year to provide guidance and feedback to the Report team. Topics covered range from the outline of upcoming editions to the overall development of the Report, future themes and communications strategies.

The Boards composition reflects the joint ownership of the GEM Report and the commitment to make the promotion of education for all a broadly shared endeavour.

The GMR Response to the 2014 External Evaluation which was presented to the Advisory Board in June 2014.

The advisory board members

Title Job title and organisation
Adam Farley Deputy Head of Education Policy Team, Youth and Education Department, Policy Division UK at United Kingdom Department for International Development
Andreas Schleicher

Director for Education and Special Advisor on Education Policy, OECD’s Secretary-General

Baela Jamil

Vice-Chair of the GEM Report Advisory Board. Director of Programs, Idara-e-Taleem-o-Aagahi Pakistan

Bradley Samargya

Chief Learning Officer, Ericsson

Camilla Croso

President, Global Campaign for Education (GCE)

Carol Hannon Policy Unit, Development Cooperation Directorate at Ireland Department of Foreign Affairs, Irish Aid
David Atchoarena Director at UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL)
Denis Sinyolo

Education International

Gerd-Hanne Fosen

Head of Section, Education Section, Department for Global Health, Education and Research, Norway

Hendrina Doroba

Chairperson, Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE)

Hirokazu Yoshikawa

Courtney Sale Ross Professor of Globalization and Education, New York University Steinhardt

Hugh McLean

Director, Education Support Program, Open Society Foundations

Husam Zaman Director General of RCQE, Associate professor of Comparative and International Education
Ita Sheehy Senior Education Advisor at UNHCR
Jo Bourne

Global Chief of Education, UNICEF

Jodie Lindsay Assistant Director, Education Sector at DFAT
Jordan Naidoo

Director, Global Agenda 2030 Coordination Team, UNESCO

Julia Dicum

Deputy Director, Canada Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Policy and Global Cooperation

Karen Mundy

Chief Technical Officer, Global Partnership for Education

Kerstin Henke

Education Division, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany

Kimberly Kerr

International Development and Education Consultant, The Mastercard Foundation

Liberty Mweemba Senior lecturer in Geography and Environmental Education at the University of Zambia
Manos Antoninis Director, Global Education Monitoring Report
Mmantsetsa Marope

Director, International Bureau of Education (IBE)

Myongjin Kim

Director of the Education and Health Team, Korea International Cooperation Agency (KOICA)

Nora Fyles

Head of UNGEI Secretariat

Omar Arias Practice Manager for Global Knowledge and Innovation at World Bank
Patricia Scheid

Programme Office, Global Development and Population, Hewlett Foundation

Paula Engwall

Senior Policy Specialist, Sida, Sweden

Philippa Lei Chief Programmes and Advocacy Officer at Malala Fund
Raphaëlle Brody Conseillère/Rédactrice Education et Développement at French Ministry of Foreign Affairs in France
Romana Kanovska Director at the National Institute for Certified Educational Measurements
Ronald Siebes

Social Development Department, Education and Research Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Netherlands

Sabina Handschin

Programme Officer, Education, SDC

Sara Ruto

Uwezo, East Africa

Satu Pehy-Voima

Senior Education Adviser, Department for Development Policy, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Finland

Selim Jahan

Director of Poverty Practice, United Nations Development Programme

Silvia Montoya

UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)

Suzanne Grant Lewis

Director, International Institute for Education Planning (IIEP)

Sylvia Irene Schmelkes Del Valle Regional Representative for Group III, National Institute of Education Assesment (INEE) Mexico
Vitit Muntarbhorn Professor of Law, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand
Vivian Onano Partnerships Manager at SEED project, Youth Ambassador at Wateraid America, Kenya and Women Deliver Young Leader
Yvan Loehle Education Advisor at Switzerland Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, SDC