About UNESCO Cluster Office in Jakarta

UNESCO office in Jakarta was established as a field office for South-East Asian Science Cooperation (SEASCO) in 1951. In 1967 it became the Regional Office for Sciences and for Southeast Asia (ROSTSEA). Since 2001 UNESCO Jakarta became the Science Bureau for Asia and the Pacific and Cluster Office for Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Timor-Leste. It assumed the role of a focal point for Timor-Leste in 2002.


The Asia-Pacific region counts for almost two thirds of the world’s population and gathers countries of great diversity in economic, religious, political and cultural terms. This diversity, along with globalization and the dynamism and rapid evolution of the region bear great challenges for Governments and societies. Closely with Governments, National Commissions and other governmental and non-governmental partners, UNESCO Jakarta works on making development sustainable and profitable for everyone in a culture of peace and human rights.

In the 48 UNESCO Member States and 2 Associate Members of the Asia-Pacific, UNESCO is present with a network of 13 Field Offices comprising Cluster Offices, Country Offices and Regional Bureaux. UNESCO Jakarta has a double role Science Bureau for Asia and the Pacific and Cluster Office. As Regional Bureau for Science, UNESCO Jakarta provides strategic expertise, advisory, monitoring and evaluation functions to Member States, other UNESCO Field Offices and UN Country Teams in the area of Science.

As Cluster Office, UNESCO Jakarta covers all UNESCO mandates: education, sciences, culture, communication and information. It is responsible for the implementation of related programmes in Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Timor Leste in all UNESCO fields of competence.

In the spirit of One UN and as part of the United Nations Country Team (UNCT) in Indonesia, UNESCO Jakarta works in synergy with the United Nations Sister Agencies for achieving the 2030 Agenda and the 17 Sustainable Development Goals in the Asia-Pacific in close coordination with Regional Bureau for Education, UNESCO, Bangkok.


Background - Professor Shahbaz Khan is Director Regional Science Bureau for Asia and the Pacific and UNESCO Representative for Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Timor-Leste.

He has multidisciplinary academic background and professional experience in engineering, environmental law, economics and international diplomacy. He is a Fellow, Chartered Engineer and Engineering Executive of Engineers Australia, Hon Fellow of Institution of Engineers, Malaysia, Fellow of the ASEAN Academy of Engineers, Hon Fellow of the Myanmar Engineering Society, Founding Fellow of the Academy of Engineering and Technology of the Developing World and Fellow of the Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand. Shahbaz is currently Adjunct Professor at the University of Canberra and Western Sydney University, Australia, Adjunct Professor at the Lincoln University, New Zealand, Visiting Professor at Wuhan University, Distinguished Professor at the National University of Science and Technology, Pakistan and Distinguished Professor at the Capital Normal University, China.

Professor Khan holds a Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Civil Engineering (1990) from the University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore (Pakistan); a Master of Science in Water Resources Technology and Management (1992) and a Doctorate in Civil Engineering (1995) from the University of Birmingham (United Kingdom); Graduate Diploma in Applied Geographic Information Science (2001) and a Grad Certificate in Information Technology (2003) from the Charles Stuart University in Wagga Wagga (Australia). In 2005, Shahbaz obtained a Master’s Degree in International Environmental Law from the Macquarie University (Australia) and in 2007 a Master’s Degree in Applied Environmental Economics from the Imperial College London (United Kingdom). In 2016, he was awarded the Honorary Doctorate in Environment & Development by Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) for his outstanding work on water, environment and sustainable development. In December 2018 Professor Khan was awarded Doctor of Science by the University of Birmingham for his eminent contributions to solving global water engineering and management issues.

Prof Khan has worked in Australia, France, Indonesia and Pakistan in various research, consultancy and policy positions. Before joining UNESCO, Shahbaz was Professor and Director at the Charles Sturt University, Research Director Irrigation Systems at CSIRO and Programme Leader, System Harmonisation for Regional Irrigation Business Partnerships at the Cooperative Research Centre for Irrigation Futures, Australia. His work has been widely recognised through receipt of many awards such as the Great Wall Friendship Award China 2017, FEIAP Engineer of the Year Award 2016, UNESCO Team Award for Managing Hydro Hazards 2009, Land and Water Australia’s Eureka Prize 2007, CSIRO Medal 2007, Biennial Medal of the Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand. He has widely published in the area of water, environment and sustainable development and received several outstanding publications awards.


Professor Khan Shahbaz
Director of Jakarta Office and UNESCO Representative
(62-21) 7399818
Ms Ester Dina Sihombing
Programme Assistant
Ms Dawn Clemitson
Finance & Administrative Officer

Ms Mee Young Choi
Programme Specialist for Education
Mr Gunawan Zakki
National Professional Officer for Education
Mr Remegio A. Alquitran
National Project Officer for Education

Mr Hans Thulstrup
Senior Programme Specialist for Water and Environmental Sciences
Ms Moe Chiba
Programme Specialist for Culture
Mr Ardito M. Kodijat
National Professional Officer for Disaster Risk Reduction

Ms Ai Sugiura
Programme Specialist for Science Policy and Capacity Building
Mr Irakli Khodeli
Programme Specialist for Social Human Sciences
Mr Ming-Kuok Lim
Advisor for Communication and Information

Ms Adelina Lourdes
Office Coordinator for Dili Office
Ms Maria Karisma Bea Agarao
National Professional Officer for Manila Liason Office
Ms Sachi Suzuki
JFIT Coordinator

Mr Khairol Hazlan Bin Hamzah
MFIT Coordinator