Regional Office for Southern Africa 
Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Engage with UNESCO

Stay connected with UNESCO

Work Opportunities

Call for Consultancy: Desk review on the integration of G...

Work location: Zimbabwe - Harare

Job posting: Jan 27, 2020

Deadline: Feb 3, 2020

Browse all

Key facts and figures

Learn more about UNESCO

About the Office

The UNESCO Office in Harare was initially established in 1986 as a sub-regional office for education in Southern Africa, with a special emphasis on higher education. Since then, it has also played the role of cluster office, covering four countries (Botswana, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe) and since 2014 as UNESCO Regional Office for Southern Africa, covering all of UNESCO’s programme sectors: Education, Sciences, Culture, and, Communication and Information, in nine countries, namely Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa,  Zambia and Zimbabwe, with national offices in Mozambique and Namibia. 

The office serves as UNESCO’s focal point for cooperation with the Southern African Development Community (SADC) as well as for the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA). The Office hosts the National Education Statistical Information Systems (NESIS) project.

UNESCO: The lab of ideas, the lab for change!