Office for the Pacific States

Cluster Office to Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (the Federated States of),

Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Tokelau (Associate Member)


Engage with UNESCO

Stay connected with UNESCO

UNESCO in Brief

Learn more about the Office and UNESCO's work

About the office in Apia

UNESCO Office in Apia, Samoa, serves sixteen independent countries and one territory in the Pacific, from Papua New Guinea in the West, the Republic of the Marshall Islands  in the North, to the Cook Islands in the East and New Zealand in the South (cluster of the Pacific States).

Opening in September 1984, the Office initially served as an Education Office to support the six Pacific Member States including Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Tonga. Pacific membership had increased to thirteen by 1995 and programme work had expanded to cover Culture, Natural Sciences and Communication and Information. As the the process continued, in 2005, all independent Pacific nations had joined . Programme work also increased to include Social and Human Sciences.

Today, UNESCO Office continue to live up to its reputation of  giving assistance for  projects to the countries  in aligment to the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations for a brighter future for everyone.