Science for Development and International Cooperation

When :

from Wednesday 21 January, 2015
to Wednesday 21 January, 2015

Type of event :

Executive Board

Where :

Room X, 125 avenue de Suffren, 75015, Paris, France

The meeting organized within the framework of the series of events held pursuant to the Executive Board’s Decision on “UNESCO at 70 and Future Prospects” (194 EX/Decision 31) was held on Wednesday 21 January 2015 in Room X, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m..

The overall theme was “Science for Development and International Cooperation”.

The meeting was organized in two parts, as follows:

The first session (from 10 a.m. to 11.30 a.m.) discussed “Basic Sciences and Science Education for Development”, with the participation of the following distinguished panelists :

• Professor Bill Phillips, 1997 Nobel Laureate in Physics (studies on lasers) (USA)
• Professor Sune Svanberg, former Chair of the Nobel Committee on Physics (Sweden)
• Professor John Dudley, President of the International Year of Light Steering Committee (New Zealand)

The second session (from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.) focused on “Science Policy for North-South and South-South Cooperation” with the participation of the following eminent panelists:

• Ms Naledi Pandor, Minister of Science and Technology (South Africa)
• Professor Ana Maria Cetto, former Deputy Director-General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)and former Secretary-General of International Council for Science (ICSU) (Mexico)
• Professor Jose Mariano Gago, former Minister of Science and Technology (Portugal)

Simultaneous interpretation of the proceedings was provided in English and French.

This meeting with Board members was open to other Permanent Delegations, Observers and designated Secretariat staff.