Meeting of the International Jury of the UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence

When, local time: 
Monday, 20 June 2016 - 9:30am to Tuesday, 21 June 2016 - 6:00pm
France, Paris
Type of Event: 
Category 5-Advisory Committee
Golda El-Khoury, Secretary of the Prize ; Linda Tinio ; email:

The Meeting of the International Jury will take place at UNESCO Headquarters on 20 and 21 June 2016 to select the laureate for the 2016 edition of the Prize. Members of the Jury include Professor Nadia Bernoussi (Morocco), Mr Marek Halter (France) and Dr Kamal Hossain (Bangladesh).

The Prize was created in 1995 to honour significant activities in the scientific, artistic, cultural or communication field aimed at the promotion of a spirit of tolerance and non-violence.

Persons, institutions or organizations that have distinguished themselves through particularly remarkable initiatives extending over several years to promote the understanding and resolution of international or national problems in a spirit of tolerance and non-violence may be rewarded with the prize of USD 100 000.

Former laureates include Narayan Desai (India), Pope Shenouda III (Egypt) and Aung San Suu Kyi (Myanmar). In 2014, the Prize was awarded to Ibrahim Ag Idbaltanat (Mali) and Francisco Javier Estévez Valencia (Chile).

The award ceremony will take place on 16 November 2016 to commemorate the International Day for Tolerance.