Award Ceremony of the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2020

When :

from Tuesday 8 September, 2020
to Tuesday 8 September, 2020

Type of event :

Prize-giving ceremony

Where :

UNESCO Headquarters, Room IV, 125 avenue Suffren, 75007, Paris, France

Contact :

Since 1967, UNESCO has awarded International Literacy Prizes to outstanding and innovative programmes that promote literacy. Throughout the years, the prestigious Prizes have rewarded over 495 initiatives undertaken by governments and NGOs across the world.

The Prizes are awarded annually at an official ceremony on International Literacy Day (8 September).
Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards)
Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)
Established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration to literacy amongst adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.