Award Ceremony of the 2013 World Fair Play Awards

When :

from Wednesday 18 September, 2013
to Wednesday 18 September, 2013

Type of event :

Meeting by Member States or Institutions

Where :

UNESCO Headquarters, 7, place de Fontenoy, 75007, Paris, France

Contact :

Eleana Felici, & International Fair Play Committee,

The ceremony of the World Fair Play Awards 2013, to be held at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, on 18 September 2013, will be the occasion to reward three personalities of the sporting world particularly deserving, and to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the creation of the International Committee for the Fair Play.

Since its establishment by UNESCO and other international organizations, in 1963, the International Committee for Fair Play (ICFP) aims to defend and promote sportsmanship worldwide.

To award this commitment, ICFP created an International Fair Play Prize, in 1965, which is now awarded in three categories:

1) For an act of fair play by complying not only with the written, but also with the unwritten rules of sport;

2) For a general attitude of sportsmanship throughout a sports career marked by an outstanding and constant spirit of fair play;

3) For an activity aiming to promote fair play such as the organization of national or local campaigns, lectures, books, articles or reports in the media.

This 18 September 2013, at the occasion of an exceptional ceremony which will also mark the 50th Anniversary of the ICFP, three personalities of the sporting world, particularly worthy, will be thus rewarded by these three most prestigious trophies of the worldwide Fair Play movement:

- Lord Sebastian COE (United Kingdom) will receive the “Jean Borotra” Trophy for a Career and a Life in the Spirit of Fair Play;

- Carlos GONÇALVES (Portugal) will receive the “Willi Daume” Trophy for Promotion of Fair Play;

- Jochen WOLLMERT (Germany) will receive the “Pierre De Coubertin” Trophy for an act of Fair Play.