6th Award Ceremony of the UNESCO Medal “Contribution to development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies”

When, local time: 
Tuesday, 11 October 2016 -
6:00pm to 8:00pm
France, Paris
Type of Event: 
Prize-giving ceremony
Salwa Larabi

On 11 October 2016, 4 eminent scientists and 2 renowned universities will receive the UNESCO Medal for contributions to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies during a ceremony at UNESCO headquarters, Paris.
The medal is awarded each year by the Director-General of UNESCO to prominent scientists, public figures and organizations that contributed to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies in the spirit of UNESCO’s priorities.

The Medal was established in 2010 at the initiative of the International Commission responsible for developing the Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies theme for the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS). Since then, over 30 Medals have been awarded to prominent scientists, institutions and public figures, such as Zhores Alferov, winner of the 200 Nobel Prize in Physics 2000 and Professor Isamu Akasaki, winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics.