Mohammed bin Rashid Arabic Language Award

United Arab Emirates
Key objectives of the measure:

In May 2014, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, launched Mohammed bin Rashid Arabic Language Award. The award aims to encourage exceptional contributions in serving the Arabic language and honoring its patrons besides highlighting successful and outstanding experiences in disseminating and educating the Arabic language. Sheikh Mohammed said: "The language of the Holy Quran is protected by Allah, and our goal behind launching this award is to serve it and contribute to its dissemination." He added: "To contribute to the preservation of the Arabic language through honoring its pioneers and distinguished persons consolidates our identity and preserves our heritage, our thinking and our culture, and is protection for our new generations from losing the most important cultural, educational and linguistic tool we possess."

Main feature of the measure:

The award includes five branches, whereby outstanding initiatives will be honored along with the exceptional contributions to support the Arabic language in the areas of education, media, Arabisation, technology, preservation and dissemination of the Arab linguistic heritage. The prize includes 10 categories to be honored on an annual basis and aims to reinforce the status of the UAE and its leading position as a center of excellence for the Arabic language, promote its usage in public life and to facilitate its learning and teaching. It also affirmed the keenness of Sheikh Mohammad to celebrate the Arabic language by honoring its researchers and professionals, whether they are individuals or institutions.

Goal(s) of UNESCO's 2005 Convention
Cultural Domain(s)