Film co-production agreements

New Zealand
Ministry for Culture and Heritage
Key objectives of the measure:

Bilateral film co-production agreements facilitate and encourage co-productions between the film industries of the respective countries.

Scope of the measure:
National, International
Nature of the measure:
Main feature of the measure:

New Zealand first began negotiating film co-production agreements in the mid-1980s. New Zealand currently has bilateral film co-production agreements or arrangements in force with 17 countries (Australia, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Poland, Singapore, Spain, South Africa, South Korea, and the United Kingdom) and two non-binding co-operative arrangements for audio-visual industry co-operation, with the Republic of Korea and Hong Kong. Treaties are in negotiation with Brazil and Canada (re-negotiation). Since 2012, New Zealand has signed agreements with Denmark (2014), Poland (2015), and Israel (2016).

Results expected through the implementation of the measure:

Greater collaboration in film industries of participating countries.

Financial resources allocated to implement the measure:

Unable to determine