EU Prize for Literature, and support for literary translations

European Union
European Commission / EACEA
Describe the main features of the policy/measure: 
The European Union Prize for Literature is an annual initiative to recognise the best emerging authors in Europe. It aims to put the spotlight on the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and to encourage greater interest in non-national literary works Launched by the European Commission in 2009, the prize is open to countries participating in the Creative Europe programme for the cultural and creative sectors. In its 13 editions to date, 41 countries have participated and there have been 148 winning authors. The EUPL is currently organised by a consortium consisting of the European Booksellers Federation, the European Writers' Council and the Federation of European Publishers. The Prize aims to: - showcase and put a spotlight on Europe’s diverse wealth of contemporary fiction; - raise the profile of winning authors outside their home country and help them cross borders and reach broader readership; - raise general awareness and stimulate interest in the whole book sector about the literary diversity in Europe; - promote actively the publishing, translation, selling and reading of books from other European countries; - Encourage transnational circulation of literature, both in Europe and beyond. The Creative Europe programme also supports initiatives for the translation and promotion of literary works across EU markets, with the aim of increasing access to and readership of high quality European literature. Specific support is provided to publishers or publishing houses (not individuals) for: - Translation and publication of a "package" of works of fiction from and into eligible languages - Promotion of the translated "package", including the appropriate use of digital technologies in both the distribution and promotion of the works
What are the results achieved so far through the implementation of the policy/measure?: 
Each winner of the EU Prize for Literature receives €5,000 and their books are given support for translation funding, as well as promotion. The winners during the reporting period are listed below. During the reporting period there have been two calls for proposals for literary translation projects – EACEA/13/2018 in 2018, and CREAT-CULT-2021-LIT in 2021 (deadline 30 September 2021, details here: Funding & tenders ( 2017 EUPL winners Albania: Rudi Erebara, Epika e yjeve të mëngjesit (The Epic of the Morning Stars), 2016 [12] Bulgaria: Ina Vultchanova, Остров Крах (The Crack-Up Island), 2016 [13] Czech Republic: Bianca Bellová, Jezero (The Lake), 2016 [14] Greece: Kallia Papadaki, Δενδρίτες (Dendrites), 2015 [15] Iceland: Halldóra K. Thoroddsen, Tvöfalt gler (Double Glazing), 2016 [16] Latvia: Osvalds Zebris, Gaiļu kalna ēnā (In the Shadow of Rooster Hill), 2014 [17][18] Malta: Walid Nabhan, L-Eżodu taċ-Ċikonji (Exodus of Storks), 2013[19] Montenegro: Aleksandar Bečanović, Arcueil (Arcueil), 2015 [20] Netherlands: Jamal Ouariachi, Een Honger (A hunger), 2015 [21] Serbia: Darko Tuševljaković, Jaz (The Chasm), 2016 [22] Turkey: Sine Ergün, Baştankara (Chickadee), 2016 [23] United Kingdom: Sunjeev Sahota, The Year of the Runaways, 2015 [24] 2019 winners Austria: Laura Freudenthaler, Geistergeschichte (A ghost story) Finland: Piia Leino, Taivas (Heaven) France: Sophie Daull, Au grand lavoir (The Wash-house) Hungary: Réka Mán-Várhegyi, Mágneshegy (Magnetic Hill) Georgia: Beqa Adamashvili, პროლოგი (Everybody dies in this novel) Greece: Nikos Chryssos, Καινούργια μέρα (New Day) Ireland: Jan Carson, The Firestarters Italy: Giovanni Dozzini, E Baboucar guidava la fila (And Baboucar was leading the line) Lithuania: Daina Opolskaite, DIENŲ PIRAMIDĖS (The Hour of Dusk) Poland: Marta Dzido, Frajda (Pleasure) Romania: Tatiana Țîbuleac, Grădina de sticlă (The Glass Garden) Slovakia: Ivana Dobrakovová, Matky a kamionisti (Mothers and Lorry Drivers) Ukraine: Halya Shyyan, ЗА СПИНОЮ (Behind the back) United Kingdom: Melissa Harrison, All Among the Barley 2020 winners Belgium: Nathalie Skowronek, La carte des regrets (The map of regrets) Bosnia and Herzegovina: Lana Bastašić, Uhvati zeca (Catch the rabbit) Croatia: Maša Kolanović, Poštovani kukci i druge jezive priče (Dear insects and other scary stories) Cyprus: Σταύρος Χριστοδούλου (Stavros Christodoulou), Τη μέρα που πάγωσε ο ποταμός (The day the river froze) Denmark: Asta Olivia Nordenhof, 'Penge på lommen' (Money in your pocket) Estonia: Mudlum (Made Luiga), Poola poisid (Polish boys) Germany: Matthias Nawrat, Der traurige Gast (The Sad Guest) Kosovo: Shpëtim Selmani, Libërthi i dashurisë (The Booklet of Love) Luxembourg: Francis Kirps, Die Mutationen (The Mutations) Montenegro: Stefan Bošković, Ministar (Minister) North Macedonia: Петар Андоновски (Petar Andonovski), Страв од варвари (Fear of barbarians) Norway: Maria Navarro Skaranger, Bok om sorg (Book of grief) Spain: Irene Solà, Canto jo i la muntanya balla (I sing and the mountain dances) 2021 winners Albania: Tom Kuka (Enkel Demi), Flama (Calamity) Armenia: Արամ Պաչյան (Aram Pachyan), P/F Bulgaria: Георги Бърдаров (Georgi Bardarov), Absolvo te Czech Republic: Lucie Faulerová [cs], Smrtholka (Deathmaiden) Iceland: Sigrún Pálsdóttir, Delluferðin (Runaround) Latvia: Laura Vinogradova, Upe (The River) Malta: Lara Calleja, Kissirtu kullimkien (You Have Destroyed Everything) Netherlands: Gerda Blees, Wij zijn licht (We are light) Portugal: Frederico Pedreira, A Lição do Sonâmbulo (The Sleepwalker Lesson) Serbia: Dejan Tiago Stanković, Zamalek Slovenia: Anja Mugerli, Čebelja družina (Bee Family) Sweden: Maxim Grigoriev, Europa (Europe) Tunisia: أمين الغزي (Amine Al Ghozzi), 2011 زندالي ليلة 14 جانفي (Zindali, the night of 14 january 2011)
Partner(s) engaged in the implementation of the measure: 
Type of entity
Private Sector
Has the implementation of the policy/measure been evaluated?: 
If yes, what are the main conclusions/recommendations?: 
An external Evaluation report (2018: found that, with regard to literature “There is a barrier to market access for publishers operating in more linguistically bound markets. This may be the reason why a disproportionate number of Central and Eastern European publishers are applying for the Literary Translation scheme to translate books originally written in English or in the other major European languages such as French, German and Spanish. With this, translation of literature from smaller into bigger languages is not promoted. The EUPL (European Union Prize for Literature) covers 38 countries and the prize winning books represent an exceptional linguistic and cultural diversity. Applications for the translation of EUPL-winning books are granted automatic points in a focussed effort to improve the visibility of literature from smaller and linguistically bound countries. This move partially achieves the aim of cultural diversity and circulation of European literature from smaller languages. However the high number of applications for the translation of EUPL-winning books has meant that applications for novels and short stories (the genre covered by EUPL) are dominant. Also, fewer publishers from the UK, France, Germany and Spain tend to include EUPL winning books in their applications and hence, publishers from these countries are less likely to be selected for grants”. The Commission took note of the points made in this 2018 evaluation and aimed to address them in subsequent Creative Europe programme support.