Developing and publishing women writers in Uganda

Uganda Women Writers Association (FEMRITE)
This measure was reported by civil society.
Describe the main features of the measure/initiative: 
FEMRITE- the Uganda Women Writers Association has since 1998 provided a platform for training established and upcoming women writers to better their craft to represent female voices in literature. FEMRITE accordingly works with partners to support writing workshops for women writers which also attract some male writers. Through the Writing Residency Program for African Women, FEMRITE has expanded its influence to nurture women literary talent from across Africa. FEMRITE hosts the annual Week of Literary Activities which brings writers in one place for dialogue. The week of activities has enabled women writers to interact and be inspired by renowned writers from across Africa and beyond. FEMRITE's publishing programme which has included a partnership with the Caine Prize for Literature has provided women a chance to get published and have their books distributed in Uganda and across the globe.
What are the results achieved so far through the implementation of the measure/initiative?: 
F|EMRITE Women have been published and many have won local and international writers awards in recognition of their excellent writing as below: Monica Arac de Nyeko won the Caine Prize in 2007; Beatrice Lamwaka was shortlisted for the same prize in 2011; Doreen Baingana was shortlisted in 2005. Doreen Baingana won the Commonwealth Writers Prize for First Best Book, Africa Region (2006); Baingana was also shortlisted for the Hurston-Wright Legacy Award in the Debut Fiction category (2006). Beatrice Lamwaka was shortlisted for the 2009 PEN/Studzinsky Literary Award (2009). Glaydah Namukasa won the Macmillan Writers Prize for Africa, Senior Category (2005). Mildred Barya won the Pan-African Literary Forum Award for Africana Fiction (2008). Jackee Budesta Batanda won the Commonwealth Short Story Competition, Africa Region (2003). Violet Barungi won the British Council International New Play Writing Award for Africa and the Middle East (1997). Goretti Kyomuhendo (novel: 1999), Susan Kiguli (poetry: 1999), Mary Karoro Okurut (novel: 2003), and Mildred Barya (poetry: 2003) won the National Book Trust of Uganda Literary Award. Some of the published women's work have made it to the set books for the national curriculum. FEMRITE continues to offer training, review and nurturing of writers through its weekly Readers/Writers Clubs which convenes every Monday to read and review manuscripts by various writers. FEMRITE has also influenced the depiction of women characters in literature and contributed to the emancipation of women.
Goal(s) of UNESCO's 2005 Convention
Cultural Domain(s)