Audiovisual Fund

Key objectives of the measure:

The Audiovisual Fund (hereinafter referred to as the “Fund”) as a public institution for promotion and development of audiovisual culture and industry, was founded through Act No. 516/2008 Coll. and entered into effect on 1 January 2009 in terms of the Slovak Republic. The Fund replaced the Audio-Vision Programme from the Ministry subsidy system through which the promotion of audiovisual creation was promoted until the end of 2009. The council, the supervisory commission and the director are the organs of the Fund. The elementary principle of financing of the Fund lies in multi-resource financing. The contributors to the Fund are the state, whose contribution from the state budget may not be lower than the total sum of the contributions from the other contributors for the given calendar year, broadcasters based on the law (5% of the overall revenues from commercials and teleshopping), broadcasters based on the license (2% of the total revenues from commercials and teleshopping), cinema operators (0.03 € for each ticket sold), retransmission operators (1% of total revenues from the provision of retransmission) and distributors of audiovisual works (1% of total revenues for distribution of audiovisual works on the territory of the Slovak Republic except for the revenues for audiovisual performance). The Fund may provide funds to independent audio-visual producers and to the producers of Slovak audiovisual works, authors and co-authors of Slovak audiovisual works and distributors of audiovisual works, persons involved in the renovation and development of the technological basis for the production of audiovisual works and their public presentation on the territory of the Slovak Republic, to persons involved in the promotion and support of the dissemination of audiovisual works, to natural persons involved in the development of education and professional research in the area of audiovisual culture and film art, as well as the operators of audiovisual technical facilities. 

Goal(s) of UNESCO's 2005 Convention
Cultural Domain(s)
Cinema/ Audiovisual Arts