Architecture Policy Guidelines. 2009-2015

Ministry of Culture
Latvian Association of Architects
Key objectives of the measure:

The objective of the architecture policy of Latvia is to create the necessary conditions for the creation and sustainability of qualitative living space based on architecture. The Guidelines were introduced in 2009 by the Order of the Cabinet of Ministers.

Scope of the measure:
National, International
Main feature of the measure:

The National Architecture Council has been set up under the Ministry of Culture. It is an interdisciplinary body. In 2010 the Design and Architecture programme was established under the State Culture Capital Foundation to financially support design and architecture projects. An intersectoral working group is in process of reviewing the priorities of the Action Directions of the Guidelines. At present, Latvia is preparing for the  International Venice Art Biennale in 2012. In 2011, the Ministry of Culture allocated EUR 10,791 to the Latvian Association of Architects.

Challenges identified in the implementation of this measure:

Intersectoral cooperation has been considerably reinfoced. The work has been started and is still in process to draw up the Law On the Quality of Architecture  which is one of the priority tasks in implementing the Guidlines. The discussions are ongoing about the governance model of the architecture sector. 

Main conclusions of the evaluation of the measure:

The impact has been partially investigated. Due to the elaboration of the Architecture Policy Guidlines, the awaraness has been raised in the society as regards the architecture, as well as the cooperation between the public sector and the civil society has been reinforced. 

Indicators used to determine impact:
There have been regular meetings held between the Ministry of Culture, architecture sector and the civil society on the implementation of the Guidlines; architects have became active participants in the elaboration of the modifications in the Latvian Building Code.
Goal(s) of UNESCO's 2005 Convention
Cultural Domain(s)