Governing Bodies

The Convention is governed by two bodies: the Conference of Parties and the Intergovernmental Committee :

Intergovernmental Committee

The Intergovernmental Committee works under the authority of the Conference of Parties to promote and implement the Convention. Twenty-four Parties from all regions of the world, elected for a four-year term by the Conference of Parties, meet on an annual basis to ensure that the implementation of the Convention remains relevant in a constantly evolving world. On the request of the Conference of Parties, the Intergovernmental Committee can also develop and revise operational guidelines.

The Committee may invite at any time public or private organizations or individuals to participate in its meetings for consultation on specific issues in accordance with its Rules of Procedure.

Committee membersTerm of Office
Group I
Austria2019 - 2023
Canada2017 - 2021
Denmark2019 - 2023
2017 - 2021
Group II
Armenia2019 - 2023
Azerbaijan2019 - 2023
Croatia2017 - 2021
Latvia2017 - 2021
Group III
Argentina2017 - 2021
Brazil2019 - 2023
Colombia2017 - 2021
Ecuador2019 - 2023
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines2019 - 2023
Group IV
China2017 - 2021
Mongolia2019 - 2023
Republic of Korea2017 - 2021
Group V(a)
Burkina Faso2019 - 2023
Ethiopia2019 - 2023
Kenya2017 - 2021
Mali2017 - 2021
Senegal2019 - 2023
Group V(b)
Egypt2017 - 2021
Iraq2017 - 2021
Qatar2019 - 2023


Conference of Parties

The Conference of Parties is the plenary decision-making body and meets every two years. The Conference of Parties includes all signatory Parties and makes key management, operational and strategic decisions.

Contact us


Section for the Diversity of Cultural Expressions (CLT/CRE/DCE)

7 place Fontenoy, 75352 Paris 07 SP - France