European Union

Type of donor: 

Culture is an essential part of the European Union (EU) vision of development cooperation, guided by the overarching objective of poverty reduction and sustainable development, and is an integral part of the EU’s foreign policy framework in the area of human development. 

This vision is aligned with EU commitments taken at the international level towards the principles and objectives set forth in the UNESCO 2005 Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.

The European Union, as a regional organization, ratified the 2005 Convention in 2006. 

Supported Projects

Supporting new regulatory frameworks to strengthen the cultural and creative industries and promote South-South cooperation

Jul 2018 to Dec 2022
Countries: Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Gabon, Georgia, Jamaica, Mexico, Namibia, Palestine, Panama, South Sudan, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Strengthening the System of Governance for Culture in Developing Countries

Sep 2010 to Jun 2015
Countries: Argentina, Barbados, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Haiti, Honduras, Kenya, Malawi, Mauritius, Niger, Seychelles, Viet Nam