Intergovernmental Committee

The Convention has two governing bodies: the Conference of Parties and the Intergovernmental Committee.

The Intergovernmental Committee is composed of 24 elected representatives of the Conference of Parties for a period of four years.  The Intergovernmental Committee is to meet on an annual basis and may meet in extraordinary session at the request of at least two thirds of its Members to address specific issues. 



Functions of the Committee

The functions of the Committee include:

  • promoting the objectives of the Convention and encouraging and monitoring its implementation;
  • preparing operational guidelines for the implementation of the provisions of the Convention;
  • transmitting to the Conference of Parties quadrennial periodic reports from Parties, together with its comments and a summary of their contents;
  • making recommendations to be taken in situations brought to its attention by Parties;
  • establishing procedures and other mechanisms for consultation aimed at promoting the objectives and principles of this Convention in other international forums;
  • deciding on projects/programmes to be funded by the International Fund for Cultural Diversity.

Article 23 of the Convention outlines the main responsibilities of the Intergovernmental Committee.

The Committee may invite at any time public or private organizations or individuals to participate in its meetings for consultation on specific issues in accordance with its Rules of Procedure.

Committe membersTerm of Office
Group I
Canada2017 - 2021
Germany2015 - 2019
Finland2017 - 2021
2015 - 2019
Group II
Croatia2017 - 2021
Czech Republic2015 - 2019
Latvia2017 - 2021
Slovakia2015 - 2019
Group III
Argentina2017 - 2021
Brazil2015 - 2019
Colombia2017 - 2021
Paraguay2015 - 2019
Peru2015 - 2019
Group IV
China2017 - 2021
Indonesia2015 - 2019
Republic of Korea2017 - 2021
Group V(a)
Côte d’Ivoire 2015 - 2019
Democratic Republic of the Congo2015 - 2019
Kenya2017 - 2021
Mali2017 - 2021
Nigeria2015 - 2019
Group V(b)
Egypt2017 - 2021
Iraq2017 - 2021
Morocco2015 - 2019


Contact us


Section for the Diversity of Cultural Expressions (CLT/CRE/DCE)

7 place Fontenoy, 75352 Paris 07 SP - France