Call for applications open for the International Fund for Cultural Diversity | DEADLINE EXTENDED UNTIL 19/06/2020 - CLOSED

Image: George Joch / Courtesy Argonne National Laboratory (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0) - no modification has been added 


UNESCO accepts applications for the International Fund for Cultural Diversity (IFCD) from 16 March to 19 June 2020. The IFCD finances initiatives that stimulate the Cultural and Creative Industries in developing countries.

The Fund is known among cultural professionals around the world as a champion in the funding of innovative and dynamic projects. Over the past 10 years, the IFCD has provided more than 8 million USD to 114 projects in 58 developing countries.

At the heart of the Fund is its commitment towards sustainable development. Creative sectors have an immense potential to contribute to prosperous societies – both economically and culturally. From bringing cinema to rural communities in Senegal to strengthening music production in Tajikistan, it invest in creativity, and creativity transforms societies.

UNESCO invites public authorities/institutions and NGOs from eligible countries as well as international NGOs to submit projects that lead to sustainable development and structural change through:

  • Introduction and/or elaboration of policies and strategies that have a direct impact on the creation, production, distribution of and access to a diversity of cultural goods, services and activities;
  • Reinforcement of skills in public sector and civil society organizations to support viable local and regional cultural industries and markets in developing countries.

The IFCD is a multi-donor fund established by the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions (2005). It contributes to the vision of a world where creativity is celebrated fully and compensated fairly.

The 11th Call for Applications closes on 19 June 2020, 17:59 Paris time.

See past projects funded by the IFCD


Eligible countries for Call for Applications 2020 (developing countries that have ratified the 2005 Convention):

AngolaColombiaGuyanaNamibiaSouth Africa
Antigua and BarbudaComorosHaitiNicaraguaSouth Sudan
ArmeniaCosta RicaIndiaNigeriaSyrian Arab Republic
AzerbaijanCôte d'IvoireIndonesiaNiueTajikistan
BahamasCubaIraqNorth MacedoniaTimor-Leste
BangladeshDemocratic Republic of the CongoJamaicaOmanTogo
BarbadosDjiboutiJordanPalestineTrinidad and Tobago
BelizeDominican RepublicKuwaitParaguayTurkey
BeninEcuadorLao People's Democratic RepublicPeruUganda
Bolivia (Plurinational State of)EgyptLesothoQatarUkraine
Bosnia and HerzegovinaEl SalvadorMadagascarRepublic of KoreaUnited Arab Emirates
Botswana*Equatorial GuineaMalawiRepublic of MoldovaUnited Republic of Tanzania
Burkina FasoEthiopiaMauritaniaSaint Kitts and NevisUzbekistan
BurundiGabonMauritiusSaint LuciaVenezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
CambodiaGambiaMexicoSaint Vincent and the GrenadinesViet Nam
Central African RepublicGhana   

* The Convention will enter into force on 7 April 2020.

Start Date: 
16 Mar 2020
End Date: 
19 Jun 2020