Information for All Programme (IFAP)

IFAP Working Groups

At its seventh session, the Intergovernmental Council of the Information for All Programme (IFAP) requested that the Secretariat invite Member States to nominate national experts to participate in the activities of the IFAP Working Groups. The Working Groups conduct their activities primarily through on-line exchanges under the guidance of a Working Group Chair, who is an elected Member of the IFAP Bureau. The multi-stakeholder composition of Working Groups with representatives drawn from government, the private sector, networks of information professionals, researchers and other relevant parties, provides the interdisciplinary perspectives and expertise to address the challenge of information for all. Working Groups play an important role in the implementation of IFAP's activities and are responsible for developing detailed contributions, such as standards and guidelines; supporting their integration into national policy frameworks; and organizing conferences and other IFAP events. Working Groups are also expected to support the application of the National Information Society Policy: A Template in national policy frameworks, and to develop supplementary information policy templates.

Information has an important role to play in addressing development issues, but this requires access to information as well as the availability of relevant and useful information. This Working Group has an important role to play in collecting case studies and supporting research on information development, promoting freedom of information and access to public information, as well as seeking to strengthen links between information and development policy.

Chair: Ms DUAN Liping (China)

Other members:

Information literacy provides the competencies, skills and attitudes that enable persons to seek, evaluate, use and create information, thereby empowering them to effectively participate in the knowledge societies. This Working Group has an important role in supporting capacity-building, the development of tools, resources and indicators for information literacy as well as promoting the incorporation of information literacy in education curricula and national information policies.

Chair: Ms Dorothy K. Gordon (Ghana)

Other members:

The increasing rate of information production coupled with changes in technologies, formats as well as the fragility of new data storage media is putting at risk our future ability to access digital knowledge. This Working Group interacts closely with the Memory of the World Programme to build the capacity of information professionals to develop and implement digital preservation standards and techniques as well as to support the exchange of best practices. Other roles include working with professional communities and policy-makers to raise awareness of this threat.

Chair: Ms Françoise Clément (Switzerland)

Members of the Memory of the World Sub-Committee on Technology (SCoT):

  • Mr Jonas Palm (Chair of Sub-Committee), Arkivråd (Director, Head of Division), Riksarkivet (National Archives), Bevarandebyrån (Division of Preservation), P.O. Box 12541, SE-102 29 Stockholm, Sweden
    Tel: +46 10 476 72 44
    Fax: +46 10 476 7220

    Jonas Palm is specialised in photography preservation and general issues of digital preservation

  • Mr Michael Alexander (Raporteur), 31 Keble Park Crescent, Bishopsthorpe, York, United Kingdom
    Tel: +44 1904 709 391

    Michael Alexander, formerly at the British Library, is a specialist of electronic document preservation

  • Mr Kevin Bradley, Sound Preservation and Technical Services, National Library of Australia, Canberra ACT 2600, Australia
    Tel: +61 2 6262 1111
    Fax: +61 2 6257 1703

    Beyond sound preservation, Kevin Bradley is a specialised in design and structure of digital preservation for documents of all kinds

  • Mr Fernando Osorio, Director of Conservation of the Imaging and Audiovisual Collections, Fundacion Televisa, AC, Avenida Vasco de Quiroga 2000, Colonia Santa Fe, Delegación  Alvaro Obregón, México DF 0210, Mexico
    Tel: 52 5 52 61 34 41

    Fernando Orsorio is specialised in photography and film preservation and an Associate of the Image Permance Institute, Rochester, a leading body in this field.

  • Lai Tee PHANG, National Archives of Singapore, 1 Canning Rise, Singapore  179868, Singapore
    Tel: +65 6332 7972
    Fax: +65 6339 3583

    Lai Tee Phang is specialising in the preservation of traditions document materials

Representatives of NGOs:

  • Mr Kurt Deggeller, Coordinating Council of Audiovisual Archives Associations (CCAAA)

    CCAAA represents 7 NGOs in the field of audiovisual preservation. Kurt Deggeller is the founding director of the Fonoteca Nationale Svizzera, and Memoriav, the Swiss Working Party of Audiovisual Archives

  • Mr David Leitch, Secretary-General, International Council on Archives, 60, rue des Francs-Bourgeois, 75003 Paris, France
    Tel: + 33 1 40 27 63 49
    Fax: + 33 1 42 72 20 65

    David Leitch is a specialist in archive administration and currently Secretary General of ICA

  • Mr Reinhard Altenhoener, Deputy general director and head of central services, German National Library, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
    International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA)
    Tel: +49 69 1525 1100

Nominated by IFAP Council Member France (French National Commission for UNESCO):

  • Mrs Christine Deschamps, France

    Christine Deschamps, a specialist in library automation, was inter alia IFLA President from 1997-2003

Other members:

Information Ethics covers the ethical, legal and societal aspects of the applications of ICT and derive from the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The Working Group seeks to better understand and raise awareness of the impacts of emerging technologies, contribute to enlarging the international debate on information ethics and support the development of guidelines in this field. By identifying emerging trends, the Working Group seeks to assists policy-makers in developing appropriate responses.

Chair: Mr Izzeldin Mohamed Osman (Sudan)

Other members:

This Working Group addresses a range of issues linked to ensuring the availability, accessibility and affordability of information, as well as addressing the specific needs of people with disabilities so as to facilitate their participation in the knowledge societies. The Working Group’s interventions include contributing to policy resources and guidelines, working with various stakeholders to support and promote open standards, conducting capacity building and raising awareness amongst key stakeholders.

Chair: Mr Hidalgo Gallegos (Peru)

Other members:

Language is a primary means for communicating information and knowledge, thus the ability to access content on the Internet in a language which one can use is a key determinant for the extent to which one can participate in the knowledge societies. Through its work with various international partners this Working Group is promoting international exchanges, research, the development of tools and resources that contribute to realizing multilingualism on-line, capacity-building and raising awareness of policy-makers and key stakeholders.

Chair: Mr. Evgeny Kuzmin (Russian Federation)

Other members: