Mobilising UNESCO Chairs in Natural Sciences for Policy Action towards the 2030 Agenda


The UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme was established in 1992 to foster international interuniversity cooperation and is coordinated by the Education Sector’s Section of Higher Education.

The Programme supports the creation of UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in key priority areas related to UNESCO’s fields of competence – i.e. the natural and social sciences, education, culture and communication.

There are currently 673 UNESCO Chairs and 45 UNITWIN Networks in 116 Member States.

alternative textalternative text

In the Natural Sciences Sector, there are currently 172 UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks.

alternative text

One of the Programme’s objective is to offer the opportunity for UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks to act as “think-tanks” and as “bridge-builders”, between research outcomes and decision-making, and between academia and local communities. Another is to stimulate a triangular North-South-South cooperation. In this context, their work is fundamental to the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.


For more information about the UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme


For more information about the UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in Natural Sciences